US apologises to American Indians

THE US formally apologised to American Indian tribes today for “ill-conceived policies” and acts of violence committed against them.

Republican Senator Sam Brownback read the congressional resolution at an event attended by representatives of five Indian nations at the Congressional Cemetery in Washington: the Cherokee, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate and Pawnee nations.

Four of the five are based in Oklahoma, and the Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate are in South Dakota. The Cherokee originally were from the Southeastern US but were forced to migrate to Oklahoma in the early 1800s.

Chad Smith, chief of the Cherokee Nation, said most tribes had not specifically asked for a formal apology from the US government, but the gesture was appreciated.

Read more

Leave a Reply